What Are The 3 Sizes Of Dachshunds?

Dachshunds, also known as “wiener dogs,” are a popular breed known for their long bodies and short legs. They come in three different sizes: standard, miniature, and rabbit.

In this ultimate guide, we will explore each size in detail.

1. Standard Dachshunds

Standard dachshunds are the largest size among the three. Here are some key characteristics of standard dachshunds:

  • Height: Standard dachshunds typically measure between 37-47 cm (15-19 inches).
  • Weight: The American Kennel Club (AKC) recognizes standard dachshunds as weighing between 16 and 32 pounds.
  • Appearance: Standard dachshunds have a long, muscular body and short legs. They come in various coat types, including smooth-haired, wire-haired, and long-haired.

2. Miniature Dachshunds

Miniature dachshunds are smaller than standard dachshunds but still retain the distinctive features of the breed. Here are some details about miniature dachshunds:

  • Height: Miniature dachshunds typically measure between 32-37 cm (13-15 inches).
  • Weight: Miniature dachshunds are generally 11 pounds or less, according to the AKC.
  • Appearance: Like standard dachshunds, miniature dachshunds come in different coat types, including smooth-haired, wire-haired, and long-haired.
The 3 Sizes Of Dachshunds

3. Rabbit Dachshunds

Rabbit dachshunds, also known as kaninchen dachshunds, are the smallest size among the three. Here’s what you need to know about rabbit dachshunds:

  • Height: Rabbit dachshunds typically measure between 27-32 cm (11-13 inches).
  • Weight: Rabbit dachshunds are recognized by the Fédération Cynologique Internationale (FCI) and weigh less than 7.7 pounds.
  • Appearance: Rabbit dachshunds share the same body shape and coat types as standard and miniature dachshunds.

It’s important to note that while standard and miniature dachshunds are recognized by various kennel clubs, including the AKC, rabbit dachshunds are not recognized by clubs in the United States and the United Kingdom. In addition to the three official sizes, there are other terms used within the breeder community to describe dachshund sizes.

These include “tweenies” for dogs between 11 and 16 pounds, and “dwarf dachshunds” for miniature dachshunds weighing less than 11 pounds.

Dachshunds come in three sizes: standard, miniature, and rabbit. Each size has its unique characteristics, but they all share the lovable and distinctive traits that make dachshunds such popular pets.

Helpful Resources